Wake me up when I am free,

I was not crafted

for captivity

born of conformity.

Like a Great Bird in a cage,

I cannot the world engage

in a matter that is authentically

and fully

me.

Instead, this being is muted,

stifled

dead,

of no real use,

head in a noose.

An existence without passion,

no rhyme nor reason

meandering season upon season.

New show, same cast;

all one can do is laugh.

A comedy of errors,

it all seems,

like a relentless bad dream.

And yet…

moments of bliss,

scattered here and there.

Glimpses of deep peace-

no worries, no cares-

as if no skin, one is only air.

Such times,

they are

so utterly delicious,

mightily precious.

Hold on to those

like the world’s most fragrant rose.

A reminder of what is possible,

preferable,

desirable:

Freedom

to be

Me-

who I really am

in service

to a much Higher

Purpose.

To no longer play small,

answering only to a Divine

inner

Call.

Down with the ubiquitous cubicles,

those notorious

killers,

containers

of the Soul!

Please wake me when I am free.

For, I cannot bear the indignity

of any

captivity.

I

Inspiration: Wake me When I am FreePoem: Tupac Shakur, Music: Babatunde Olatunji

Wake Me when I am Free

Leave a Reply

